EMCC announces 2022-23 cheerleading team

EMCC announces 2022-23 cheerleading team

The East Mississippi Community College cheerleading squad for the 2022-23 academic year has been announced by EMCC cheer coach Danielle D. McDade.

In addition to naming this year’s 14-member EMCC team, McDade is looking to add two more men’s scouts as well as a flight before the next academic year begins. Interested students should contact McDade by email at dmcdade@eastms.edu.

This year’s EMCC cheerleading squad will have four returning members and 10 incoming members. Led by third-year cheerleader and two-time EMCC softball letterman Aislynn Cochran (Canton Academy), the Lions will also feature sophomores Cameron Boone (Wayne Academy), Chloe Godwin (Northeast Lauderdale HS) and Raychel Smith (Southeast Lauderdale HS) return to this year’s team.

EMCC will also have a group of sophomores who will participate as members of the first-year cheer team after attending classes at East Mississippi in the 2021-22 academic year. Jordan Seales (Moss Point HS) played in 10 games for the EMCC women’s basketball team last season, while Cameron Cagle (West Lauderdale HS), Jordan Gully (Kemper Academy) and Stazyon Robinson (Starkville HS) and they joined EMCC as freshmen.

EMCC’s team of six freshmen is half of three former teammates at Sebastopol High School. Jayden Lathem, the younger brother of former EMCC developer Blair Lathem, will be joined at Scooba by former collaborators Maycee Gilmer and Gracie McDill. Also joining the Lions’ 2022-23 cheer squad this season as freshmen are Kaitlyn Freeman (Germantown HS), Emma Goss (DeKalb, MS/Arlington [OR] HS) and Lauren Wooldridge (Clarkdale HS).

Rounding out East Mississippi’s 2022-23 cheer squad will be sophomore Scottlan McNutt (Choctaw County HS), who returns for his second year as EMCC’s Leo the Lion mascot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.