Stuarts Draft cheerleaders, Wilson, Fort honored with postseason all-state honors

STUARTS DRAFT – The awards keep coming for the joy of Stuarts Draft. After winning the Division 2 state title for the second year in a row and the fifth time in six years, the Cougars were presented with postseason awards Thursday.

Senior Zane Marshall was named the Class 2 leader of the year, while Tammy Carter was named the state coach of the year.

Other Cougars on the first team all-state were Sofia Coppola, A’mya Swats and Caydence Morris. Riverheads’ Sadie Strickler was named to the Class 2 second team (the Class 1 school was added to the Class 2 cheerleading squad).

Wilson Memorial had five cheerleaders named first-team all-state in Class 3, where the Hornets finished fourth in the state. Hayley Clinton, Chi’yere Williams, Mackenzie Campbell, Alyssa Seamster and Gracie Branham all landed on the first team.

Meanwhile, Fort Defiance had four second-team all-state players: Payton Miller, Tiara Stevens, Hannah McNulty and Meghan Jones.

More: Heart: Fort Defiance volleyball hits Hidden Valley as magical season ends

More: What’s open on Thanksgiving? Here is a list of places in Staunton, Augusta and Waynesboro

— Patrick Hite is the education reporter for the News Leader. Story ideas and suggestions are always welcome. Contact Patrick at and follow him on Twitter @Patrick_Hite. Subscribe to us at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *