NSU cheerleaders win gold medal, earn top five finish at national …

NATTHITOCHES, La. – Northwestern State University cheerleading squad and mascot Vic the Demon earned four top five finishes, including a gold medal at the 2023 UCA/UDA College Nationals Championship and the University World Cup Championship earlier this week in Orlando, Florida.

NSU Cheer and Vic the Demon won the gold medal in the University World Cup Championship in the co-ed game day division against teams from the USA, Canada and Mexico. Squads perform routines as if they were on the sidelines of their respective universities. The goal was to show the judges what it’s like at Turpin Stadium. This division consisted of three game day elements: the fight song, a situational side activity, and a time-out routine. Together with the gold medal in this division, NSU received a second trophy for the highest score in all matchday categories for the UWCC.

The team finished fourth in the country in the Open Coed Game Day division. The game day routine was used in this division and the University World Championship.

Vic the Demon competed in the Open Mascot division, finishing fifth in the country. The purpose of this competition is to show the judges how lively a mascot can be. Mascots had to send an audience tape interactive on their respective campus to be selected for the final round of the competition. Once selected, they had to perform a 90-second skit.

Pierre Part’s Elise Vidrine is captain of the team. Co-captains are Gavin Acor of Bossier City and Gabe Vargas of Leesville. Members include Annalize Sylvia van Florien, Emerson Rodrigue of Port-au-Prince, Haiti, Daniel Wellmeier of Metairie, Abby Williams, Jessi Lucky, Mady Spillman, Hunter Broadway, and Christopher Anthony, Jr. of Natchitoches, Meghan Bercegeay of Gonzales, Paige Pruett of Haughton, Honor Camus of Baton Rouge, Alexis Ammons of Castor, Maci Tanner of Minden, Jorian Dodd of Little Elm, Texas, Traven Matthews of Vivian, Adonis Hurrington of Bossier City, Blaine Bernard of Mandeville, Nate Campbell of Shreveport, Christopher Richard of Abbeville, and Ridic Meraz of Thorndale, Texas.

Members of the coaching staff are Amy Dodson Stepp and Tre Jackson. Jennifer Honzell Thorton is the support staff.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *